Join us June 25, 2020 to celebrate young filmmakers!


FilmYoungFest promotes the talents of young filmmakers under 22 by providing a platform to express their creative visions and personal statements in films under two minutes in length. 

Winning filmmakers and their films are included in the FilmOneFest major event.

Submissions for FilmYoungFest are from November 15, 2019 to April 15, 2020.  

FilmYoungFest 2019

Local students from New Jersey were the big winners in this year’s FilmYoungFest, beating out competition from 40 countries. The top two finalists are automatically included in the main festival on July 20.

Juliana Santamauro and Nicky Chinn, recent graduates from Howell High School, took home the Young Filmmaker Award for their animated short “Vibes” beating out a field of 31 finalists.  The two have made seven films together.  Santamauro will continue to study film at Savannah College of Art and Design in the fall.

Young Filmakers Award


Audience Choice


NJ Filmmaker Award

"Mew Year, New Me

2019 Winners Con't

“There were 31 films in this screening and nearly half of them were New Jersey natives so we established the New Jersey Filmmaker Award this year,” said David Salowe, Submissions Director for FilmOneFest.  Winners were Giovanna Caruso and Alexandra Weitzman from Communications High School for their short comedy “New Year New Me.”

The audience used their phones to vote for their favorite films and the winner was “Kebbabed” a short comedy by Middletown South team of Kelsey O'Keefe, Lauren Palmadesso, Samantha Vuotto, Leah Bohner, and Claire Harrington. 

Teachers Christopher Corey and Victor Bayers were in attendance at the reception and screening.

Locals in attendance for both the screening and opening reception held at the Atlantic Highlands Art Council (AHAC) Gallery included all the winners as well as Shannon Miller (Howell High School), Hannah Cohen, Sofia Bracken with teacher Jill Lynch (Little Silver Middle School), Ava Papunen, Jackie Siminerio, and Amelia Johnson (Communications High School).

“We are proud to celebrate the many talented young filmmakers poised for a future where the visual form will be more and more integral to how we communicate,” Thuss said.

Photos by Sally Stopper.